St Helena is governed within a democratic system where the people of St Helena elect members of the public to represent them in Legislative Council (LegCo).There are 12 Councillors in LegCo representing the whole Island, who among themselves then elect five members to sit on Executive Council (ExCo) which advises the Governor in most areas of government policy.  To stand as a candidate for LegCo you must be over the age of 21 years and meet certain criteria (which can be viewed in the 2009 Constitution of St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha). To vote in the Elections you must be aged 17 and over, registered on the Electoral Roll and also meet certain criteria (also found in the Constitution), Standing Orders for Legislative Council Meetings. Three Ex official and non-elected members also sit on LegCo – the Chief Secretary, Financial Secretary and the Attorney General.
Executive Council – Executive Council is the highest policy-making body on St Helena and consists of five Councillors from Legislative Council (these five Members are appointed by LegCo). They are as follows: Derek Thomas, Christine Scipio-O’Dean, Lawson Henry, Russell Yon and Anthony Green.  It is the role of ExCo to advise the Governor on policy decisions. 


There are five Council Committees –

Economic Development Committee

Education Committee

Environment & Natural Resources Committee

Public Health Committee

Social and Community Development Committee

Constituency Meeting – Notes

Notes from Constituency Meeting Held At St Michael 

Expenditure for Councillors for 2014-15

Expenditure for Councillors for 2015 – 16 

Meeting Reports

View Reports & Documents

Summary of Issues Councillors were unable to deal with during Feb and Mar Constituency Meetings – 14 Jul 2015